Huskies, the worlds best escape artist

I wonder if you know how many huskies end up in shelters. More importantly is to ask *why* huskies end up in shelters.

It’s understandable why someone wants a husky. They are beautiful, noble looking creatures with a calm powerful grace that says something like “I am wolf. I am outdoorsy. I am awe inspiring.” What their look doesn’t say to you is “I am high energy despite looking so calm!” and “if you don’t exercise me every day and spend lots of time with me I’ll tear up a lot of stuff ‘cus I’m bored!” or “I am a HUGE escape artist and often require no *less* than a 6 foot fence!” and importantly “Almost all experts agree that you will have to keep me on a leash in unfenced areas… Always.” Or my all time favorite- “I will shed 3-10 garbage bags of fur at one time like you’ve never seen before and you will have to brush me for weeeeeks!”

I would highly recommend to people thinking of getting a husky to do some serious research. And then do some more. Even with all our research we got Whiskey home and then read more stuff or looked up behaviors to learn about things we were not prepared for (like his energetic/friendly -and aptly named by one husky book writer- “nose punching” which I’ve also seen referred to as “muzzle punching”).  There is a lot to understand about them that people don’t know and the dogs end up back in shelters because owners weren’t prepared. They often get a bad rap for being mischievous or hard to train but this is not true. Though many experts would not recommend a husky for a first time dog owner because of their independence and strong willed natures.

So today for Petfinder’s Adopt-A-Less-Adoptable-Pet Week I’m highlighting a husky. He came to the shelter as a stray and was never reclaimed. I’d be willing to bet you dinner that he escaped from his home either over the fence or because he wasn’t leashed or fenced properly. A neighbor I’ve never talked to before stopped me yesterday morning to tell me about a husky he owned until a few years ago. He said “He’d dig under, climb over, just about anyway he could to get out. Never could keep him fenced in properly.” Yeah, I hear yah Mr. Nameless Neighbor. That’s definitely a good husky for you! It’s not that they don’t love you, they just love everything, and their bored, and that fence isn’t going to stop them!

So meet Pronto! An escape artist who’s ten months old who needs a forever home. Click on the picture to see his full bio and pictures.Pronto is special needs not just because of his escape artist talents! He also needs a home with no cats, and no small dogs or male dogs. He may do well with female dogs his size.

If you’d like to read another blog on the turn over rate of huskies into shelters then check out this one that I really enjoyed reading. Click here for a Grand Rapid Press blog article on the topic and do check out their great video on mushing. I’ll definitely be blogging about urban mushing when it gets cold(er)!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Huskies, the worlds best escape artist

  1. Daniel Diaz says:

    i know about escape artist Huskies. my two are mix-breed Huskies and they have found ways to get out of just about any type of pen or fenced-in area. funny thing though… we have them hooked up to a post on some clothes line wire and a regular collar and they cannot figure out that all they have to do is walk backwards to slip out of the collar.

    • Gina V says:

      I need to get a video of Whiskey walking backwards… it’s hilarious. I personally think he likes doing it to show off! You better knock on wood or they’ll probably figure out how to do it today lol.

  2. jennifer says:

    This post hits SOOO close to home for me. We gave our Husky away this week. All of the things that you listed were things that we didn’t know and weren’t prepared to deal with. We did manage to keep her from getting out. I took her to a ball park last weekend and she bit a child a child on the finger (it was a pretty bad bite). I realized then that we just didn’t know how to handle her. I found a licensed dog trainer who took her into her home.

    I miss my beautiful blue eyed dog TERRIBLY but I know for a fact that she is thriving in her new home. We get to go visit her tomorrow and I am so excited!!

    • Gina V says:

      Wow thank you for sharing your personal story. I know how hard it was to make the decision to release your dog to a trainer. But I applaud you for having the courage to make the decision. It is so *cool* that you get to go visit her! I hope it’s a fabulous reunion! If it’s okay to ask- are you planning on bringing her back home after she has time with the trainer?

      I wish I had taken pictures of all the bruises and scrapes I had from when we first got Whiskey. All over my arms and legs and he was a terrible biter. We knew he was just playing, and didn’t know his limits but that’s not easy to explain to other people- especially non dog people. It was a long road to getting him to quit biting. I bet your husky will get there in no time with a real dog trainer in her corner! Hope you guys have a great visit.

Leave a Reply

