Moss Rock

Moss Rock. What can I say about you?

I hate your maps. I can say that. They are *terrible.* Calling what I had a map, is like calling a candy wrapper a Bible. It might have some of the same words on there, like I don’t know “the, a, and, honey” but generally you’re not going to use it to get where you’re going. Wait, that’s a terrible comparison. Still, it’s the best I can do.

Seriously, it’s best to just enjoy the scenery and make sure you remember which trail takes you home. Not that I think you can get lost out there, it’s just, if you have a time constraint you might find yourself spending a few more hours than necessary trying to find your way around. On the upside, because it is not an overly huge park (like say the Talladega National Forest) then you will quickly after a few trips memorize the trails and won’t need the map. I’m nearing that point now. Two or three more trips and I’ll be like “That old thing? Throw that away. I gotta it all in here” ::tap tap tap the head::.

We took the white trail looking for a waterfall we never saw. Someone on the trail told us it was dried up at the moment. We did see a spectacular rock slope that leads up for what seemed like a few hundred feet. Just a fantastic piece of art. We followed that up to some overhangs and cave-y type holes. It reminded me a great deal of Cheaha, which is funny considering the last time I was here part of the trail reminded me of Bon Secour (well, except for the slight slant, which Secour certainly doesn’t have).

The beginning of the place that reminded me most of Cheaha. This is a huge rock covered slope up the hill.

The dog seemed to have a good time and was much better suited for it since the temperature has dropped about 10 degrees since our last hike there. He is fighting the leash and I am having to be unmerciful in my “no!” ::correcting pull:: “No!” ::correcting pull #2,006…etc::. He seems to have a neck made out of steel. And while there is a part of me that feels awful for the correction and no’s- there is this other part of me that knows that if I do not get a handle on this pulling behavior there will be no hope for me enjoying the hikes. He’s never really been as bad as he was on this hike which lowered my enjoyment level 😦 but the problem’s root was in the fact that the two other dogs were off leash, and he can’t be. They were wayyyyyy ahead and he could see them and he wanted to pull me up there to them. They didn’t want to walk with us, and we couldn’t run to keep up with them, so you see the problem. My dog in the middle pulling like mad for HOURS trying to be with dogs he can see but don’t want to be next to him. Since he’s completely unreliable and won’t follow commands off leash in an outdoor area, I was left to sadly be the yanker, and the “no-er” and I’m looking forward to a dogless hike this weekend. (Well, Whiskey will be there, but no other dogs).

Yay for really cool rock formations.

I hate it for him, and I certainly will keep letting him go on hikes with dogs very frequently, but I need a break! I do thank my human and dog friends that accompanied me on this trip. You guys were great! It’s not your fault Whiskey wants to pull me down lol.

So I’ve talked about Moss Rock before but here is a recap of the information you need.

Details:
Sunrise to Sunset Dogs must be on a leash no longer than six feet and under personal control at all times. However, despite that quote from their site, we rarely saw dogs on a leash and that’s fine with me. It seems that the culture of the trail there is that off leash dogs are okay so long as they are friendly, in your site, and under your control at all times.

Links to various details you might find interesting!:
Main Hoover site
Moss Rock Festival Is coming up November 6-7! Dogs are allowed. You will have to take them on the bus/van that ferries you across but I’ve gotten an email from them that says the drivers are aware dogs will be on board!
Bouldering Info!
Botanical Gardens pdf document about the various plants and animals you can find at Moss Rock.
Read some history about Moss Rock Preserve. I especially like the part about an old moonshine still found on the site! No wonder Whiskey felt right at home.

Directions:
Hoover’s website provides various ways to get to the different parking lots.
I like parking at the school parking lot and going in from there.

Overall Score: This trip was a 5 out of 10 due to our leash pulling and my inability to enjoy the nature as well for it 😦

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moss Rock

  1. Brooke Boyd says:

    Have you tried keeping treats with you so when he relaxes you can reward him? He might start thinking, “If I calmly stay back here, I might get a treat… maybe those guys aren’t so important after all.”

    • Gina V says:

      No… I had not thought of that and it’s a great idea! Why didn’t I think of that lol? Ty Brooke 🙂 I’m going to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

